Nya Reads

Nya

I’m an avid reader, a hobbyist writer, a professional designer, and I blog for fun!

I love mystery & thrillers, speculative fiction, non-fiction (business & design), and my guilty pleasure is chick-lit. I’ve created this blog to contradict my workaholic tendencies and talk about a non-work related passion of mine.

Let’s connect: Instagram | Goodreads | Support me on Ko-fi

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

“All I Want for Christmas” is… my best friend’s partner? – a heartwarming romance by Joanna Bolouri

A refreshing romantic comedy from a male perspective.


Disclaimer: I’ve received an advanced reader copy via NetGalley, this doesn’t influence my opinion or review. Thank you to the author and the publisher for providing me with a reader copy in exchange for an honest review.


Personal Experience:

Quote: 

“Mummy! Santa said the F-word!”

Who should read it? Anyone who appreciates a refreshing take on the typical romantic comedy.

Would I recommend it? It was a pleasant read, so yes.


Sometimes all you want is to read a heartwarming story with a happy ending. No major surprises, no hey-reader-I-tricked-you twists. And Joanna Bolouri did this beautifully by focusing on character development and humor, while still allowing us to enjoy a pleasant, even if slightly predictable, read.

Why would you introduce the person you have a crush on to your best friend? From the very beginning that the plot made me pity Nick in a not-so-good-way. Nick was portrayed as a selfless character who cared about everyone except himself. But how helpful (or even interesting) can you be, when you’re trying to help others in ways they don’t want to be helped, while also harming yourself in the process? That’s not selfless, that’s just silly. However, for the sake of a romantic comedy, this concept worked.

This is what I particularly loved about this book:

🧡 The male POV

The author did a fantastic job with the male POV. It felt realistic, yet not over the top or relying on gender stereotypes. In fact, Nick is anything but your standard romantic comedy character.

🧡 The humor

The humor and language might not be for everyone, but I thought some moments were hilarious. Especially being inside Nick’s head, in such a deep POV, really makes you feel as you’re part of some of those awkward situations. Let’s say I had quite a lot of fun reading some parts of this book.

What I didn’t like so much:

🌧️ The actual characters

Funnily enough, feeling part of the plot and inside the head of one of the characters, didn’t help me feeling connected to them. It’s still funny to think about some of their decisions and can’t help but wonder: Why would they do this? Still, it didn’t personally feel relatable to me. I wasn’t specially rooting for these characters, or excited about the outcome. I was reading because I was curious about the situations they were putting their own selves through.

🌧️ It dragged quite a bit

I felt tempted to skip some pages, especially when it came to Nick’s endless job pursuit. It just felt some of it dragged quite a bit and didn’t contribute to the progress of the plot or character’s development.


Overall, I’d say “All I Want for Christmas” was a refreshing, fun and interesting romantic comedy. Even though it won’t be on my favorites shelf, it’s still a nice read for a cozy time during Christmas time (and beyond).

All I Want for Christmas
by Joanna Bolouri
Publication date: October 2020
Genre: Romance, Romantic Comedy

What if the love of your life was your best friend’s girl? The sparkling Christmas romance to pick you up this year…

‘A hilarious and touching festive read’ Heat
‘A festive romance in all its technicolour fairy-light glory’ My Weekly
‘A hilarious and heartwarming festive treat’ Heidi Swain
‘So funny, sweet, warm and fuzzy’ Clodagh Murphy

When Nick loses his job and is dumped by his glamorous but demanding girlfriend, he is forced to grudgingly accept work as a Santa at a local Christmas grotto. As his friends are getting married or promoted, Nick spends his days being terrorised by unfriendly elves and cried on by snotty, spoiled children.

Then he meets 4-year-old Alfie. All Alfie wants for Christmas is for his mum, Sarah, to be happy again. Moved by the boy’s selfless wish, Nick arranges a date between Sarah and his best friend, Matt. But as Sarah and Alfie become part of all their lives, Nick realises that happiness for Sarah and Matt might mean heartbreak for himself.

A hilarious and heartwarming Christmas romance from the author of The List, perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare, Sophie Cousens’ This Time Next Year and Marian Keyes’ Grown Ups.

READERS ARE LOVING ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS

‘Will have you laughing out loud’ *****
‘I’d have given it 10 stars if I could!‘ *****
‘Impossible to put down’ *****
‘A funny, fuzzy, festive feast of a book!’ *****
‘Absolutely perfect escapism’ *****

 

Leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.