Nya Reads

Nya

I’m an avid reader, a hobbyist writer, a professional designer, and I blog for fun!

I love mystery & thrillers, speculative fiction, non-fiction (business & design), and my guilty pleasure is chick-lit. I’ve created this blog to contradict my workaholic tendencies and talk about a non-work related passion of mine.

Let’s connect: Instagram | Goodreads | Support me on Ko-fi

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

“All About Us” by Tom Ellen Will Teach You To Not Take Love For Granted

A romantic and imperfect love story that reminds us to value what we have in life and fight for what it’s worth.


Disclaimer: I’ve received an advanced reader copy via NetGalley, this doesn’t influence my opinion or review. Thank you to the author and the publisher for providing me with a reader copy in exchange for an honest review.


Personal Experience:

Quote: 

“I forgot we could be like this together. I forgot that we fit so perfectly, that I can lose myself so completely in the moment with her.

Who should read it? Anyone who likes a realistic love story that they can relate to.

Would I recommend it? Wholeheartedly recommend.


All About Us” has hooked me from the very beginning. Ben made me angry and frustrated right away — and that’s a good thing.

The story is told from Ben’s perspective and focused on his feelings of inadequacy and unhappiness in his marriage. Day after day he makes hurtful mistakes, but instead of fixing them, he drowns in self-pity and makes the decision for his wife: He decides that Daphne is better off without him.

Angry already?

Ben also wonders if Daphne is the right person for him after all. Once upon a time, she was his destiny. Maybe he was wrong. Perhaps he should have chosen the other girl instead. What if…?

Thankfully, Tom Ellen takes us with Ben on a journey back to his past so that he can actually get his answers to “What if?”

This book is crazy relatable because we all make so many decisions in our lives that shape our destiny. We all go through rough patches and we can’t help but wonder, what if we have done things differently? What we have made different choices? But as The Cure say: “There is no if, just and…”

The beautiful message about this book is that it reminds us that we are not powerless. We have the power to fix our situation, regardless of what it looks like now. However, we need to become aware of this. We need to trust our decisions and live with no regrets.

I loved pretty much everything about this book, especially the male POV. The characters are far from perfect, and sometimes it was hard to even empathize with Ben, but at the same time, it’s beautiful to see him grow through the narrative.


Overall, “All About Us” is a relatable and realistic romantic story that will most likely make you reflect as well on some of the things or people you’ve been taking for granted.

All About Us
by Tom Ellen
Publication date: October 2020
Genre: General Fiction, Romance

If you could turn back the clock, would you choose a different life?

Ben’s always loved the month of December, but this year, with his relationship with Daphne on the rocks, it’s missing its usual magic. And then his old friend Alice gets back in touch. Ben’s always thought of Alice as the one that got away, and he can’t help but wonder: what if he’d done things differently all those years ago?

He never imagines he might get to find out… but when a stranger sells Ben a mysterious watch one freezing winter’s night, he’s astonished to wake up the next morning on 5th December 2005: the day he first kissed Daphne, leaving Alice behind.

Now Ben must make the biggest decision of his life, all over again. But this time around, will he finally find the courage to follow his heart?

All About Us is a love story for anyone who’s ever wondered what might have been. Perfect for fans of One Day and Me Before You, it’s a moving novel of heartbreak and hope – and how the choices we make throughout our lives will shape our destiny.

 

Tom Ellen All About Us

One Response

Leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.