Nya Reads

Nya

I’m an avid reader, a hobbyist writer, a professional designer, and I blog for fun!

I love mystery & thrillers, speculative fiction, non-fiction (business & design), and my guilty pleasure is chick-lit. I’ve created this blog to contradict my workaholic tendencies and talk about a non-work related passion of mine.

And then it gets… “Too Close” by Natalie Daniels

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

‘Too Close’ is a psychological thriller that got me hooked from the very beginning. In fact, I’m going to give it 5 stars even though it’s not perfect (but as we all know, perfection is impossible to achieve).

Disclaimer: I’ve received an advanced reader copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Personal Experience:

Quote: 

“I wonder where all our love went. It must be somewhere – in the bits-and-bobs drawer to the right of the sink, perhaps. One day someone is going to open that drawer and say, Oh! Look what I’ve found! A whole load of love!”

Who should read it? Pretty much everyone. Who doesn’t like a good thriller with real, flawed characters?

Would I recommend it? Yes!


The Plot

It’s not that the plot is complex or out of ordinary. Much the opposite, everything about the story feels very real, and you’re instantly eager to know more as you turn page after page. The strongest point of the book is how the plot is unveiled. What could possibly have led Connie to the state she is now? You want answers, and the book gives you answers…slowly. 


The Characters

Wow, these were some pretty flawed characters! The way it’s written makes us feel really close to these people while terrible things go through their heads. It’s difficult to “like them”, but it is their flawed human nature that makes them more interesting. 

Garage Sale Mystery GIF by Hallmark Movies & Mysteries

The Writing Style

The best thing about this book was the writing style! Daniels did an amazing job with both Connie and Dr Emma’s points of view. Connie is raw, cold, and the shocking part is when you realize you can relate to some of her thoughts and views on life. It also does make us wonder how some events can lead to chaos and turn a life around. I had a hard time picking my favorite quote because there’s so much quotable food for thought!


Overall, ‘Too Close’ might not be innovative or unexpected but it was still my favorite read of 2018. The raw writing style deserves the extra points and a 5-star rating from me.

too close natalie daniels

Too Close
by Natalie Daniels
Published by Penguin
Publication date: March 2019
Genre: Thriller

For fans of THE GIRLFRIEND and THE WIFE BETWEEN US, TOO CLOSE is a twisting tale of friendship and betrayal.

How close is too close?

Connie and Ness met in the park while their children played. As they talked, they realised they were neighbours. Perhaps it was only natural that they and their families would become entirely inseparable.

But when Ness’s marriage ends in a bitter divorce, she is suddenly at Connie’s house all the time. Connie doesn’t have a moment to herself, no time alone with her husband, not a second to chat to her kids.

It’s all too much. Something has to give.

Connie has woken up in a psychiatric hospital. They say she committed a terrible crime but she says she can’t remember a thing.

Leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.